The Dead Rabbit Grocery and Grog – Lower Manhattan, New York City, New York

The Dead Rabbit was named the World’s Best Bar 2 years in a row by World’s 50 Best Bars, which is organized by Drinks International.

Needless to say, this place is way cool.

For those of you that know me, I am a sucker for good marketing.  And I am a big animal lover. If you throw an animal in a name, I am pretty much there.  So I was excited about the rabbit part, sad about the dead part and was conflicted.   BUT … Their drink menu is inside a comic book when the rabbit comes back for redemption, so I was cool with it.  But … it was actually named after The Dead Rabbits, an Irish American street gang in Lower Manhattan in the 1850’s.  But, we are going to go with the redemption bit.

IMG_3897

3 stories and you cannot quit looking at everything.  The bottom floor was packed with people having a great time.  I love to see people having fun.  I was there early enough that nobody was belligerent yet.  But I was not so early that I didn’t have to get on a waiting list for the 2nd floor.  It only took about 15 minutes, so it wasn’t a big deal.

IMG_3899

I was seated at the bar in a room that was warm and welcoming.  The staff was super nice and accommodating.

IMG_3901

The drinks are fabulous.  For Manhattan they are on par for price – if anywhere else, they are a bit pricey at about $18 a pop.

IMG_3896

At the bartender’s recommendation for something refreshing, I went for the Party Animal – White Wine, Gentian, Clementine, Green Apple, Lemon and White Tea.  It was delicious.  In a teacup, the also brought me the Punch of the evening which had ginger in it and it also was delicious.  And I felt fancy.

IMG_3900

Hunger struck me and I ordered the Chicken Pot Pie.  It tasted like my Momma’s.  It was freezing outside and was the perfect meal for the night.

IMG_3902

With a location in London and one coming to Dublin, this place is growing.  And with good reason.  This place is unique and well worth a visit.


The Dead Rabbit Grocery and Grog

30 Water St.
New York, NY 10004

(646) 422-7906

Location:  40.7033, -74.01103